Notebook? Laptop? Netbook? Tablet PC? Smartphone?

In a perfect dilemma.
A dilemma that forces me to make that correct choice.
So what would be it?
Several factors I am dying to go for includes:

The perfect:
– Processor.
Its a world of multi-core system. A dual-core is now a basic requirement, maybe I should head out for quad or six-core system? AMD or Intel or VIA? Hmm…

– Screen size.
I can say 14′ and smaller screen would be an eyesore… opps! I mean an eye pain if one uses the system for so long, but a 8′ – 10′ tablet would be perfect for those move-about in at home.

– Back-lighting.
LED is a good plus point to boost battery life, but for notebook/netbook/laptop a good one should have an LED back-lighting for its keyboard keys too.

– Battery life.
Every manufacturers boasts about long battery life, but all refuses to tell you that is ‘when you use it at the lowest screen brightness, with all wireless switched off, no USB port in use, blaa blaa blaa. One that have at least 5hrs battery life would fit me well.

– Weight.
Yes, smartphones beats the rest being ultra-portable. But for me, a device that weights less than 2kg would be a great companion.

– Sound.
Yes sound for real matters to me. No more crappy screeching output from cheap built-in speakers, or those power-sapping but useless subwoofer vibrations from imitating sets. Harman Kardon, Altec Lansing, Yamaha built-in speaker system maybe? Hmm…

– Graphics.
What is graphic to me? Since I don’t play games, its good to know if it is always ready for those graphic-killing applications like video convertion, or should I suddenly become a game maniac. I hear nVidia and ATi makes good graphic cards, those I knew that since the first Win98SE PC came to my hands.

– Port, extensions, features.
USB ports at least 4, maybe heading for those that supports USB3.0 standard.
Display adaptor port at least 1.
Ethernet, yes.
Memory card reader, yes and a good bonus.
Bluetooth built-in, yes. Version 3.0 preferred.
Webcam, yes please.
Mic, speakers, yes of course.
DVD-RW driver, yes. I don’t think I will need those that support Blue-Ray just yet, and those with LightScribe? Hmm…
Oh my, smartphone has already left the game since the previous few factors, but then it can be used as a phone and several netbook already start supporting SIM-card function thus the netbook can be used as a phone too.

– Operating system.
No Macintosh please, I disliked that… 😛 Windows? Maybe, though they had always been problematic but usability never can be beaten. But likely I will load a Linux system for multi-boot compatibility.

So, which one fits?
I completely forgot one more factor.
The price… Where can I get that money?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

